Book Reviews

Andrew-KillgoreAmbassador Andrew Killgore:
“Prodigiously documented… Alison Weir must be highly commended for throwing such a brilliantly hard light on the relationship between the United States and Israel. I hope this marvelous book gets all the attention it deserves.” 

James_AbourezkSenator James Abourezk:
“This provocative book documents a history that is essential in understanding today’s world. Scholarly, yet readable, it is a must for all Americans. We all need to know what we have spent by coddling Israel and its aggressions, and why the cost has become more than we have bargained for.” 

Paul_Findley-3Congressman Paul Findley:
“This book is the best history of the origin of big trouble for the United States in the Middle East.  Author Weir is is a gifted writer who here illuminates neglected history.”

KimKim Petersen, co-editor of Dissident Voice:
“Weir has indeed succeeded in her goal to provide ‘a concise, clear sketch of what has been going on’ in historical Palestine. Against Our Better Judgment is a brilliant introduction to Zionism, the Lobby, and Israel/Palestine.”

hager2L. Michael Hager, cofounder of the International Development Law Organization:
“Ms. Weir’s text is revelatory and articulate… Even those who are well read on the Israeli-Palestinian relationship have much to learn from this slender volume.”

Ziad Hafez, Contemporary Arab Affairs:
“Its scholarly content makes it an indispensable tool for any researcher on the root cause of Middle Eastern turmoil… Meticulously researched, explosive”

Daily Kos blogger:
“If you never read another book, read this one.”

REVIEW ARTICLES

Review: “Against Our Better Judgment” | By Stephen J. Sniegoski, UNZ Review, November 14, 2016

America’s Role in Creating a Massive Moral Deficit | By Cliff Jones, Critical Professional Learning, November 2015

Book Review: Against Our Better Judgment | By Hypohypatia, Hypohypatia Blog, July 8, 2015

Massive News-Suppression That’s Become History-Suppression | By Eric Zuesse, CounterCurrents.org, April 1, 2015

Book review: Against Our Better Judgment: The hidden history of how the U.S. was used to create Israel  | By Ziad Hafez, Contemporary Arab Affairs, March 27, 2015

The United States’ Hidden Hand in the Creation of Israel | By L. Michael Hager, Truthout, January 31, 2015

A Brief History of US-Israel Relations: How Zionists Outmaneuvered and Replaced State Department Experts | By Ambassador Andrew Killgore, Counterpunch, November 4, 2014

In the Beginning… | By Charles Burris, LewRockwell.com Blog, June 9, 2014

Review of Alison Weir’s “Against Our Better Judgment: How the U.S. was used to create Israel” | By Karin Brothers, Rebellious Investigative News & Film, May 29, 2014

Zionist Influence in the United States: The hidden history of how the U.S. was used to create Israel | By Kim Petersen, Dissident Voice, March 31, 2014

America’s Role in the Creation of the State of Israel: The Origins of the Israel Lobby in the US | Book excerpt in CounterPunch, WEEKEND EDITION March 21-23, 2014

Against Our Better Judgment: How the United States Was Used to Create Israel by Alison Weir | By Gilad Atzmon, March 18, 2014

Against All Better Judgment: A Book Review and Current Events | By Eileen Fleming, Arab Daily News, March 17, 2014

A Review of Alison Weir’s “Against Our Better Judgment: How the United States Was Used to Create Israel” | By James Abourezk, Washington Report on Middle East Affairs, May 2014

Israel’s Creation – A Book to Read | By gregmex, The Daily Kos diaries, March 6, 2014

REVIEWS ON AMAZON

  • “Meticulously referenced this book, and its revelations, acquaints the reader with a sordid history that goes a long way toward explaining the U.S.A.’s recent disastrous Middle Eastern adventures. It merits a wide audience.”
  • “Essential reading and I mean essential! This book should be in the hands of every US voter, lawmaker, opinion-former, newspaper editor, journalist, school pupil, university student, and read by them and discussed by them, without fear or favour. If one book could change public opinion in the US (and elsewhere) and in time change the US’s disastrous policies on Israel, this must be it. It can be read in a few hours. It has the potential to change the world.”
  • “Against Our Better Judgment” presents many facts that could help end “the passionate attachment” that U.S. State Department officials warned President Truman against.
  • “Weir has written a must read for Middle East pundits and US Politicians which should also be included in U.S. high school history classes.”
  • “I bought this work soon as it showed up on Amazon. I could not drop it until I finished it. A must read if you are interested in the historical roots of the injustices that plague the Palestinian people.”

REVIEWS ON GOODREADS

  • “Alison Weir presents a well-researched and well-written history of the creation of Israel. It is not possible to understand the tensions today without understanding how it became that way. It should be noted that before 1967 many American Jews were against the formation of a state only for Jews since they thought it would lead to more hatred and persecution, especially when the proposed country would be created by displacing the Palestinians. This is a book every student of Middle East history should read since it contains so much new information.”
  • “Fascinating look at the relationship between the US and various Zionist organizations and the lengths they went to in order for Israel to become a reality. Some of the info in here is jaw dropping and it’s amazing how much we don’t know about what went on behind the scenes.”
  • “What an eye opener on how Zionism played a role in US politics since 1910. I always wanted to know why President Truman recognized Israel though many advisors were against the move. Here you have an answer.”